Track and Field 2017

On Wednesday, June 14th 2017 it wasn’t just our birthday, but it was also the Track and Field meet. I made it for ball throw, 800m, 100m, and relay. I had to quit one, because I made it to too much activities. I couldn’t quit 800m because there were only 2 people that tried out (me and my sister), and relay, our coach Mr. Hume wanted us to win again (We got 1st last year) so I decided to not do ball throw.

When the bell rang, all track and field participants went to Gym 1 for attendance. Then, we went on the bus. I sat with Raneem and Summer. When we got there, the long distance runners where going to start their race.  My first event was 100m at 10:00 o’clock. I was in a heat with the girl, that beat me in the heats of 100m last year, and believe it or not, she beat me again. But Sylvie, the other girl that made 100m with me, made it to the finals, and got 5th overall.

For 800m, I got 6th (the last place for a ribbon), and my sister Cherry, got 9th. It was really tiring because, the girl that got 5th, I was neck to neck with her at the end, but in the box I was in (couldn’t  go into the 2nd box) she would put her arms out, so I couldn’t pass her. So it was kinda unfair. 😦

For relay, the last event of the meet, Mr. Hume wanted last year’s relayers to do it again, because we got 1st last year. It was Sylvie, Ryan, Me, and Ariyo, respectively in the order. We were supposed to have 20m for handing section, instead, it seemed like three. o_O 😮 When the gun went off (Not loaded with bullets, it looked like paper??) Sylvie started running, yelled Ryan’s name, passed the baton to Ryan, yelled my name, passed it to me, then I ran, yelled Ariyo’s name, passed it to him. We were first in our heat, but overall, we got 2nd. It was pretty good, though. The grade 5’s got 1st, and the grade 4’s got fourth. I got 2 ribbons, out of the whole day, (6th, and 2nd) And I have 6 in total (Two 1st, Two 2nd, One 3rd, One 6th). It was a great fun day! 😀

Leave a Reply

