In From the Cold

On Saturday, December 15th, I went to my friend Jessica’s house to go to the Church near Parkdale. Jessica’s Jewish school: Temple of Israel were volunteering and she a group of friends to volunteer with her. In our group were Jessica’s cousin, Cherry, Suhur, Emily and me. 

When we arrived we met up with other volunteers from Temple of Israel. We all checked in and were handed yellow volunteer t-shirts as well as name tags. It turns out my friend Arielle from gymnastics, and a classmate Tyler were also there.

We were then taught what the different jobs were: Serving, and cleaning the scraps. The children and some adults were serving and the rest of the adults were in charge of the “harder” jobs.

The menu was very simple. The guests would start with a simple salad, then they would be treated with some soup, followed by the main course which had ham and eggs, and lastly dessert. The dessert looked delicious, it was a Neapolitan ice cream topped with chocolate sauce.

Entertaining the guests was a rather small band. It turns out the singer was my elementary school’s former principal: Kim Power. It was quite awkward seeing her not as a principal, my last memories of her was yelling at me for forgetting my backpack in the schoolyard… 

After serving the guests, we had to clean up. We sprayed the tables and chair with a liquid, and stacked the chairs. Overall, I think it was pretty successful, everyone enjoyed the food, and it went well.

Leave a comment